Out stock





Please note this is a pre order and wont be dispatched until 25/3/22. Anything ordered with this item will not be dispatched until that date.

Bart Davenport might be a multitude of things, depending on whom

you ask. He's been a mod, a blues singer, and a softrock troubadour.

He's an eclectic singer songwriter with the timeless voice of a real

crooner. He lives and creates music in Los Angeles. Smooth and yet

curiously pointed, his work transports us to an imagined past or present

filled with romantic odes and enigmatic characters. Davenport's stories

are often a reflection of now, taking place in a fantasy world but

conveying personal and universal truths. Returning to acoustic guitars

and 60s baroque pop tones, Davenport recently tracked twelve new

songs in his home studio in Los Angeles. He takes us on an exclusive

tour of colorful stories, both comic and tragic. The resulting 'Episodes'

marks his eighth proper album and is scheduled for release in March

2022 on Tapete Records.


Davenport's evocative, new material provides both an escape from

and an unusual commentary on turbulent times. From digital antagonists

in 'Holograms' to waltzing oligarchs in 'Billionaires' to an enigmatic

nudist in 'Naked Man', many offbeat characters populate the funny little

world within Davenport's verses. His vocals are distinctively smooth at

times, while at others, a slightly cheeky, more dramatic baritone takes

over. His patented happy/sad sensibility remains along with the

occasional jazz chord.


While 'Episodes' features Davenport on multiple instruments, he did not

go it alone. Several guest musicians were crucial to the production.

Drummer Graeme Gibson's casual feel graces several tracks, notably the

Kinksy 'It's You'. The samba-tinged 'Easy Listeners' has that tropical flavor

Davenport's been known to dabble in, this time aided by impeccable

percussionist Andres Renteria (Jose Gonzales, Rodrigo Amarante).

Meanwhile, the Turkish Psych-inspired 'Strange Animal' showcases

futuristic organ riffing by Aaron M. Olson (L.A. Takedown), who produced

Davenport's previous album ('Blue Motel' by Bart & The Bedazzled). Other

longtime bandmates, Jessica Espeleta (bass) and Wayne Faler (lead guitar),

both make appearances.


Perhaps the standout track of the album is its quietest; the Brit-folk-styled

'Alice Arrives'. Davenport's autumnal vocal and guitar are adeptly

accompanied by Dina Maccabee's original string arrangement, which

morphs from earnest baroque to playful modern and back again. This

along with the heavier, orchestral sound of 'Billionaires' adds a touch of

hi-fi to an otherwise homemade album.



1) It's You

2) Holograms

3) Alice Arrives

4) Easy Listeners

5) Billionaires

6) All Dressed In Rain

7) Naked Man

8) Strange Animal

9) Wireless Moon

10) 99 Forever

11) Creatures In Love

12) Still Life

                                                        This is a standard cookie notice which you can easily adapt or disable as you like in the admin. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.

                                                        BART DAVENPORT - EPISODES - Vinyl

                                                        BART DAVENPORT - EPISODES - Vinyl