In stock
Out stock

Lou Reed - Words & Music , May 1965 - Pink Vinyl


AVAILABILITY: In stock (4 items)


Hurry up! Sales Ends In

Hurry! Only 4 Left in Stock!


EXCLUSIVE UK Pink Vinyl Variant - UK Indies Only - 1000 Copies - Please check your allocation with your sales rep.(Non-Returnable). Cassette and 8-Track also UK Indies Only (Non-Returnable) . Limited first CD pressing in die-cut sleeve. Black vinyl is Non-Returnable also.

  • All tracks previously unreleased.
  • Produced in partnership with Laurie Anderson and the Lou Reed Archive.
  • Inaugural release in Light in the Attic’s Lou Reed Archive Series.
  • Features the earliest-known recordings of “I’m Waiting for the Man,” “Pale Blue Eyes" and “Heroin" as made famous by The Velvet Underground.
  • Includes seven unheard Lou Reed compositions.
  • Remastered from the original analog tapes by GRAMMY®-nominated engineer John Baldwin.
  • Package designed by multi-GRAMMY®-winning artist Masaki Koike.
  • Vinyl pressed at RTI.
  • LP available on Standard Black Wax plus a Special Limited Color Edition.
  • LP & CD include booklets featuring lyrics, archival photos, and liner notes by Greil Marcus, Don Fleming and Jason Stern (LP: 20-pgs, CD: 60-pgs)
  • CD & Cassette include six unheard tracks recorded between 1958 and 1964, including early demos, a cover of Bob Dylan’s “Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right,” and a doo-wop serenade recorded in ‘58 when the legendary singer-songwriter was just sixteen-years-old
  • Limited first CD edition housed in special die-cut jacket
  • Tracks 1-10: Special Color LP Edition / Standard LP Edition / 8-Track
  • Tracks 1-17: CD / Cassette

Released in tandem with the late artist’s 80th birthday celebrations, the album offers an extraordinary, unvarnished, and plainly poignant insight into one of America’s true poet-songwriters. Capturing Reed in his formative years, this previously unreleased collection of songs—penned by a young Lou Reed, recorded to tape with the help of future bandmate John Cale, and mailed to himself as a “poor man’s copyright”—remained sealed in its original envelope and unopened for nearly 50 years. Its contents embody some of the most vital, groundbreaking contributions to American popular music committed to tape in the 20th century. Through examination of these songs rooted firmly in the folk tradition, we see clearly Lou’s lasting influence on the development of modern American music – from punk to art-rock and everything in between. A true time capsule, these recordings not only memorialize the nascent sparks of what would become the seeds of the incredibly influential Velvet Underground; they also cement Reed as a true observer with an innate talent for synthesizing and distilling the world around him into pure sonic poetry.


I'm Waiting for the Man - May 1965 Demo, Men of Good Fortune - May 1965 Demo, Heroin - May 1965 Demo, Too Late - May 1965 Demo, Buttercup Song - May 1965 Demo, Walk Alone - May 1965 Demo, Buzz Buzz Buzz - May 1965 Demo, Pale Blue Eyes - May 1965 Demo, Stockpile - May 1965 Demo, Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams - May 1965 Demo, I'm Waiting for the Man - May 1965 Alternate Version (CD/Cassette Only), Gee Whiz - 1958 Rehearsal (CD/Cassette Only), Baby, Let Me Follow You Down - 1963/64 Home Recording (CD/Cassette Only), Michael, Row The Boat Ashore - 1963/64 Home Recording (CD/Cassette Only), Don't Think Twice, It's All Right (Partial) - 1963/64 Home Recording (CD/Cassette Only), W & X, Y, Z Blues - 1963/64 Home Recording (CD/Cassette Only), Lou's 12-Bar Instrumental - 1963/64 Home Recording (CD/Cassette Only)

This is a standard cookie notice which you can easily adapt or disable as you like in the admin. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.

Lou Reed - Words & Music , May 1965 - Pink Vinyl

Lou Reed - Words & Music , May 1965 - Pink Vinyl