In stock
Out stock

T. Rex - 1972 - *Signed Exclusive* - 6xLP Red, White & Blue Vinyl Boxset


AVAILABILITY: In stock (5 items)


You Save: £10.00 (8%)

Hurry up! Sales Ends In

Hurry! Only 5 Left in Stock!


Please note this is a pre order and wont be dispatched until 6/5/22. Anything ordered with this item will not be dispatched until that date. 


  • Having risen to superstardom through 1971, 1972 saw Marc Bolan attain the heights of “T. Rexmania”, or “T. Rextasy, as the press dubbed the frenzy that took over the UK’s music scene.

  • This box set celebrates that year. For the first time, it brings together the 1972 studio recordings, broadcasts and performances made by Bolan and his band, T. Rex, putting the listener into the shoes of a T. Rex fan that year: singles, albums, live concerts, radio broadcasts, a film soundtrack and more.

  • Bolan started 1972 with a brand new single on his own brand new record label, The T. Rex Wax Co. “Telegram Sam” swiftly reached the number 1 spot in the charts, his third chart-topper in under 12 months. In March, T. Rex played two sell-out concerts at Wembley’s Empire Pool, later featured in “Born To Boogie”, a feature film directed by Ringo Starr that included guest performances from Elton John and Ringo. May saw the release of another number 1, “Metal Guru”, followed in July by “The Slider”, the classic album.

  • The band also toured the US twice in 1972, Bolan taking the opportunity to perform solo acoustic sessions for local radio stations. And of course the band featured regularly on the BBC throughout the year, recording special sessions for Radio 1 and Top Of The Pops. T. Rex ended the year with the singles “Children Of The Revolution” and “Solid Gold Easy Action”, and the T. Rex Fan Club 1972 “Christmas Record” Flexi Disc (included here in its entirety).

  • The booklet contains a specially-written 1600 word note by producer Tony Visconti, as well as a brand new 12,000 word essay by acknowledged Bolan authority Mark Paytress (author of the definitive Bolan biography). Also featured are many previously unpublished photos taken by Keith Morris in the course of 1972.

    The box set contains:

  • “The Slider” album

  • “Live At Wembley” The Matinee Show plus two previously unreleased 1972 mixes from The Evening Show

  • “Born To Boogie” The Soundtrack Album issued in full for the first time

  • Marc Bolan’s US Radio Sessions

  • T. Rex on the BBC in 1972 – featuring rare version of ‘Telegram Sam’ from the Christmas Top Of The Pops

  • 1972 B-sides and the T. Rex Fan Club 1972 “Christmas Record” Flexi Disc

  • Illustrated 24 page 12x12 book including

  • Essays by Tony Visconti and Mark Paytress

  • Pressed on 180 gram coloured vinyl

    Demon Music Group Ltd, 1 Television Centre, 101 Wood Lane, London W12 7FA e-mail:

LP 1:
Side A
1. Metal Guru
2. Mystic Lady
3. Rock On
4. The Slider
5. Baby Boomerang 6. Spaceball Ricochet 7. Buick Mackane
Side B
1. Telegram Sam
2. Rabbit Fighter
3. Baby Strange
4. Ballrooms Of Mars 5. Chariot Choogle
6. Main Man

LP 2:
1. Rosko’s Intro [Emperor Rosko]
2. Cadilac
3. Jeepster
4. Baby Strange
Side B
1. Spaceball Ricochet
2. Girl
3. Cosmic Dancer
4. Telegram Sam

LP 3:
1. Hot Love
2. Get It On
Side B
1. ‘One More Time?’ [Emperor Rosko]
2. Summertime Blues
Bonus tracks:
Alternate mixes with 1972 overdubs, from The Evening Show*
3. Baby Strange [alternate mix]
4. Hot Love [alternate mix]

LP 5:
1. Spaceball Ricochet
2. Jeepster
3. Cosmic Dancer
4. Main Man
Side B
1. Ballrooms Of Mars
2. Mystic Lady
3. Girl
4. Baby Strange
5. Left Hand Luke
6. The Slider
7. Spaceball Ricochet

LP 6:
Side A: T. REX ON THE BBC IN 1972
1. Metal Guru
2. The Slider
3. Mystic Lady
4. Rock On
5. Main Man
6. Children Of The Revolution
7. Solid Gold Easy Action
8. Telegram Sam [Christmas Top Of The Pops]*
1. Cadilac
2. Thunderwing
3. Lady
4. Jitterbug Love
5. Sunken Rags
6. Xmas Riff
Born To Boogie
7. T. Rex Fan Club 1972 “Christmas Record” Flexi Disc

* Previously unreleased.

LP 4:
Side A
1. Marc Bolan Marc's Intro
2. T. Rex
3. T. Rex
Baby Strange
4. Marc Bolan
'Electric Wind' [poem]
5. Elton John, Ringo Starr & T. Rex
Tutti Frutti
6. Elton John, Ringo Starr & T. Rex
Children Of The Revolution
7. Marc Bolan & Ringo Starr
'Look To The Left'
8. Marc Bolan
Spaceball Ricochet
9. Marc Bolan & Ringo Starr
'Some People Like To Rock'
10. T. Rex
Telegram Sam
11. Marc Bolan & Ringo Starr
'Some People Like To Roll'
Side B
1. Marc Bolan & Mickey Finn Cosmic Dancer
2. Geoffrey Bayldon
– ‘They've Come, Tis Said'
3. Marc Bolan & String Quartet Tea Party Medley: Jeepster / Hot Love / Get It On / The Slider 4. Geoffrey Bayldon 'Union Hall'
5. T. Rex
Hot Love
6. T. Rex
Get It On
7. T. Rex
Chariot Choogle [soundtrack mix of studio recording]
8. Marc Bolan
Marc's Outro
9. Children Of The Revolution [strings reprise]



                                        This is a standard cookie notice which you can easily adapt or disable as you like in the admin. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.

                                        T. Rex - 1972 - *Signed Exclusive* - 6xLP Red, White & Blue Vinyl Boxset

                                        T. Rex - 1972 - *Signed Exclusive* - 6xLP Red, White & Blue Vinyl Boxset